T20 cricket world cup 2014

The 2014 T20 world cup was the fifth season of the T20 world cup. This international cricket tournament was held in Bangladesh. The tournament went on from 16 March to 6th April. The game was organized in three cities in Bangladesh and these are Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong,  Sher-e-Bangla cricket stadium in Dhaka, and Sylhet international cricket stadium in Sylhet. The International cricket council declared Bangladesh as host in 2010. For this, it was the second time an Asian country was going to host the T20 world cup

Some words about the final match in the T20 world cup

about the final match in the T20 world cup

In this final match, Srilanka became the winner by defeating India. Srilanka made history by winning this title for the first time. They won the final match by defeating India by 6 wickets in Mirpur. In this world cup tournament, Virat Kohli from India was declared a player of the series. Mohammad Imran Tahir from South Africa and Ahsan Malik from the Netherlands got the maximum number of wickets i.e12. Virat Kohli became the highest scorer of the whole tournament and i.e 319.

Apart from knowing who won the T20 world cup 2014, some interesting facts are there in the context of the T20 world. Several countries such as England, India, New Zealand, West Indies, Srilanka, Afghanistan, Ireland, Australia, Zimbabwe, and South Africa are full members of this T20 world cup.

 Some countries such as Nepal, United Arab Emirates, Hongkong, and the Netherlands are the qualifying countries for the world cup tournament.

Match officials of T20 world cup 2014

Javagal Srinath from India, Ranjan Madugalle and Roshan Mahanama from Srilanka, and David Boon from Australia are the match referees in this international T20 world cup. 

The 3 umpires belong to the international panel of umpires and referees, 11 came from the Elite Panel of ICC umpires are given in-field responsibilities for this official tournament. The name of them are

Steve Davis, Paul Reiffel, Bruce Oxenford, Rod Tucker from Australia, Sundaram Ravi from India, Billy Bowden from New Zealand, Aleem Dar from Pakistan, Kumar Dharmasena and Ranmore Martinez from Sri Lanka, Marais Erasmus From South Africa, Ian Gould, Nigel Llong, Richard Kettleborough and  Richard Illingworth.

Some additional information about ICC t20 world cup 2014

The official theme song for this ICC world cup was char chokka hoi.  The broadcasting country partners are Astro TV from Malaysia and Brunei, Start Sports, Doordarshan from India and All India Radio, Bangladesh television, Maasranga tv, Gait tv, Bangladesh Betar radio, Bhumi from Bangladesh  Eurosport from Europe, Lemar Tv from Afghanistan, and salaam standard, Super sports from Africa-sub Sahara, Fox sports, Nine network from Australia and many others. 

In the semi-final match, India became one of the finalist’s teams by defeating South Africa by 6 wickets. Sri Lanka won the semi-final match by winning over West Indies by 27 runs.

T20 world cup format 

The tournament format was divided into two phases and these were group stage and knockout. In the group stage format, 4points are given for winning, 2 points are given for No result, and 0 points for a loss.