World Cup winners

The tournament was played for the first time in 1975 and has become increasingly popular since then. If a country wins an ODI World Cup, its popularity and fan base increase tremendously.

list of ICC World Cup winners
  • 1975, West Indies. Sixty-over teams were present, and two groups were formed. With Clive Lloyd scoring a century, West Indies maintained their lead with 291/8 in their final match. After defeating Australia by 274 runs in the first ODI World Cup, West Indies won the tournament.
  • 1979, West Indies. Both the West Indies and England won their respective groups, the same as in the first edition. Viv Richards’ 138 runs helped West Indies score 286/9 at the end of the final day. The West Indies bundled out England for the title with a second innings total of 194 runs.
  • 1983, India. The third ODI world cup brought a change of attitude towards cricket in India. Taking the field first, India reached 183 runs in 54.4 overs. After dismissing West Indies for 140 runs in the second innings, the bowlers secured a breakthrough. The 43-run victory made India the new ODI world champs.
  • 1987, Australia. Moreover, it was the first World Cup played in the 50-over format. English won the semi-final, but India finished first in their group. During the semi-finals, Australia defeated Pakistan by 18 runs. In the final match, Australia defeated England by 7 wickets, restricting them to 246/8 after reaching 253/5.
  • 1992 – Pakistan. England defeated South Africa by 19 runs in the second semi-final, while Pakistan defeated New Zealand by four wickets in the first semi-final. The final game saw Pakistan defeat England with 227 runs after setting a difficult total of 249/6. This was Pakistan’s first title.
  • 1996, Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka, India, the West Indies, and Australia qualified for the next round of the knockout stage after meeting in the quarterfinals. In the last match, Australia scored 241/7 thanks to a superb knock by Mark Taylor. After scoring a century from Aravinda de Silva, Sri Lanka won in 46.2 overs.
  • 1999, Australia. During the 1999 World Cup, Australia won. With the 1999 ODI World Cup, Australia began to dominate international cricket. During the last match, Shane Warne took four wickets as Pakistan was dismissed for just 132 runs in 39 overs. Adam Gilchrist’s quick knock saw the Australian team knock down the score in 20.1 overs.
  • 2003 – Australia. Australia won its second consecutive World Cup title in 2003, beating India in the final. In the last match, Australia reached a tremendous total of 359/2 thanks to the superb century of Ricky Ponting. Despite being bowled out for 234 runs in 39.1 overs, India lost by 125 runs.
  • In 2007, Australia. At the 2007 tournament, which was held in the West Indies, Australia won the championship for the third year in a row. Adam Gilchrist scored 149 runs off 104 balls for Australia in the final game, helping them win by 53 runs.
  • 2011 – India. The 2011 ODI World Cup was won by India for the second time, beating Sri Lanka by six wickets. Mahela Jayawardene scored a century in Sri Lanka’s final match, scoring 274/6. In 2015, Australia. As a result of New Zealand’s last first innings, Elliott topped the scoring chart with 183 runs. The British Lions secured a 7-wicket victory in 33.1 overs thanks to the bowling trio of Warner, Smith, and Clarke.
  • In 2019, England. It was the most memorable World Cup final in cricket history. The Kiwi team scored 241 runs in their final game, while England scored 241 runs. According to the boundary count rule, England won the game after both teams scored the same number of runs in the super over.