important tournaments of cricket

Cricket is a bat-and-ball game developed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century. It’s derivative of old games like baseball. As you’re sure to know, cricket is played in three different formats. Tests, One Day Internationals, Twenty20 Internationals T20s, an international tournament with varying lengths of games played. Thus to know more about important tournaments of cricket that happen in cricket, keep reading below.

Types Of Cricket Format

type of cricket tournament

The first type of cricket tournament is also known as Test Cricket. Test cricket is played between two teams from the same country and consists of a single match that lasts up to five days. Unlike One Day Internationals (ODIs), which are usually played over a single day, the cricket series between the two teams lasts a long time. Some games in history have lasted for days and even weeks. This means that there would be multiple matches back-to-back for several days or even weeks. The second type of cricket tournament is One Day Internationals or ODIs.

It is limited to cricket format. The match is played for the fifty over. The team gets one inning to score runs and win. The third type of cricket tournament is Twenty20 Internationals or T20Is. Each match lasts a maximum of three hours or only twenty over of play. This means that, unlike the test format, each team only plays one inning, and there are no second chances. So, various tournaments happen in one of these formats. The different formats decide the type of cricket tournament that takes place in the world.

ICC Cricket World Cup

ICC Cricket World Cup is a flagship event, the pinnacle of men’s cricket. The tournament is hosted in the ODI format, and it is the most widely followed sporting event in the world. The first-ever world cup was played in 1975, and since then, it has been the top-ranking cricket tournament, and the fans have waited eagerly for this tournament to watch. The last world cup was played in England and Wales, and England captured the trophy for the very first time. This time world cup has attracted two hundred million viewers just on television sets across India with over one billion views when all channels are combined to share the viewership numbers.

 More than a million viewers have viewed the world cup live from the stadium, and the total reach of the Cricket World Cup is around 2.5 billion viewers across 200 countries. The ICC Cricket World Cup is a one-day international cricket tournament every four years, with preliminary qualification rounds leading up to the finals. The event is administered by the International Cricket Council.

Champion’s Trophy

The ICC Champion’s Trophy is a one-day international cricket tournament among teams representing their respective countries. The event is primarily organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The event started in 1998, and since then, it has been contested between eight teams who play each other in a round-robin format followed by a knock-out phase. The Champions Trophy has been primarily played as a performance tournament, with the idea of providing an opportunity for all the top cricket-playing countries to compete with one another on something approaching level terms. The idea was to conduct this tournament after every two years.

The latest tournament was held in 2017 in England, with Pakistan emerging as champion. Eight teams competed in each edition of the tournament until 2013, when the number of teams was increased to 10, following pressures from some members. The original eight teams were: Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka.

T-20 World Cup

As the name suggests, this tournament is played in a T-20 format. This is one of the exciting and thrilling tournaments of cricket, where matches often end up with high scores. T20 World Cup is an International Cricket Council tournament taking place since 2007, and the next edition will take place in the year 2022. The tournament is played among countries worldwide, with games in both men’s and women’s tournaments. T20 World Cup is an international cricket tournament. It’s the shortest form of cricket that exists in the world. It came into existence in 2007 when the ICC decided to split its World Cup into two different events, a 50-over World Cup and a T20 World Cup.

The first tournament took place in South Africa and was hosted by their national team. There were 12 teams in the tournament’s first edition, playing a round-robin and knockout format. India won the tournament. The next edition of the T20 World Cup will be held in 2022 and is scheduled to be hosted by Australia. The number of teams taking part in this tournament will be sixteen.