IPL 2023 info

For the first time since 2019, the Indian Premier League (IPL) returns to its traditional home-and-away format. This year, 10 teams will participate, each playing seven matches at their home ground and seven against opponents.

The 16th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will begin on 31 March 2023 and run through May, with league stage matches taking place across 12 venues in India and playoffs taking place at five additional sites.

IPL 2023 Sponsor

Tata Group replaced Vivo as the title sponsor of the league at an undisclosed fee. Unfortunately, Vivo chose not to renew its involvement due to slowdowns in both smartphone sales and an impending global recession.

Viacom 18 – the broadcaster of IPL 2023 – has secured 13 streaming sponsors, including:

  • Dream11,
  • Parle,
  • ET Money,
  • TVS,
  • Puma,
  • Mondelez,
  • Kamla Pasand,
  • ITC,
  • Pepsi.

Furthermore, it has inked deals with e-commerce companies and four-wheeler firms to promote its game.

Watch IPL 2023 Live

The Vivo IPL 2023 live will be broadcast on multiple telecast channels, such as Star Sports. Furthermore, several OTT services provide live streaming of IPL matches.

Reliance Jio users can watch IPL 2023 free via their Jio Cinema app. The Viacom 18-owned tournament will also be broadcasted on Jio TV in India and Times Internet in Europe.

When Will IPL 2023 Start

The IPL 2023 schedule will feature ten teams, including two new additions ahead of the 2022 season. The league stages of the tournament will be divided into two groups, with each side playing 14 league games.

IPL 2023 Auction 

IPL 2023 Mega Auction Date was 12 and 13 February 2023 at Bangalore. An IPL auction is an integral component of any T20 cricket tournament, where teams bid on players available in an open market setting – with whoever offers the highest salary winning that player.

On Friday, 16 December, the IPL mini auction 2023 took place in Kochi as a final step in preparing for next season’s tournament.

IPL 2023 Team List:

  1. Chennai Super Kings
  2. Delhi Challengers
  3. Gujrat Titians
  4. Kolkata Knight Riders
  5. Lucknow Super Giants
  6. Mumbai Indians
  7. Punjab Kings
  8. Rajasthan Royals
  9. Royal Challengers Bangalore
  10. Sunrisers Hyderabad.

IPL 2023 Schedule

This year’s IPL will be held in 12 cities across India. The opening match of the season will take place at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on 31 March.

The remaining IPL games will be held at various other venues around India, including 18 doubleheader matches.

On 31 March in Ahmedabad, Gujarat Titans will begin the Indian Premier League against Chennai Super Kings. The opening match of the IPL begins at 7:30 pm and is followed by the IPL 2023 final on 28 May.

IPL 2023 Venues Stadium List:

  • Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi
  • Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
  • D Y Patil Sports Stadium in Mumbai
  • M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
  • M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
  • Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad
  • Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali
  • Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad
  • Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur
  • Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

IPL 2023 Format

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the world’s most renowned domestic cricket tournament. Played over 10 teams; the top four teams qualify for playoffs each year.

In the league stage, 70 matches are scheduled to be played, with each team playing fourteen matches – including 18 doubleheaders.

IPL 2023 Groups and Rules

The 2023 season of the Indian Premier League promises to be an exciting one, featuring a brand-new format. Unlike past seasons, this one follows a round-robin system and sees teams facing off twice during league play.

Two groups consisting of 10 teams each will be formed:

  • Group A: Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and Lucknow Super Kings;
  • Group B: CSK, RCB Sunrisers Hyderabad, Punjab Kings and Gujarat Titans.

Teams have the freedom to add up to 18 players to their squad but cannot exceed a quota of six overseas players. This game-changing rule gives teams an edge over their opponents.

In the IPL 2023, all ten teams will be divided into two groups. As per seedings, these sides will play each other twice within their group to guarantee each team plays 14 league matches. However, there is no IPL 2023 new team this year.

How many players can be retained in ipl 2023

Teams will strive to retain their star IPL 2023 players like Hardik Pandya, David Miller, Suman Gill, and Mohammed Shami. These players have excelled in past seasons and would likely not want to be released.

Mumbai Indians will not be selling their core squad, which includes:

  • Rohit Sharma,
  • Ishan Kishan,
  • Suryakumar Yadav and Tim David.

Furthermore, the team hopes to retain pacers Umran Malik and Jasprit Bumrah for another season.

Gujarat Titans will not part with their stars Suman Gill, David Miller and Rahul Tripathi. Together these three have scored over 450 runs and taken 25 wickets in the past season alone.

Chennai Super Kings will not be selling their core team, which includes:

  • Mahendra Singh Dhoni,
  • Deepak Chahar,
  • Rutarak Gaikwad,
  • Daniel Sam and Robin Uthappa.

Furthermore, the team hopes to retain players like Chris Jordan, Dwayne Bravo and Jagadeesan for future development. You can also check the IPL 2023 retention rules to understand why.

At the IPL auction, each team can spend up to 75% of its budget. Each franchise must field a squad consisting of at least 18 players and no more than 25.

Women’s IPL 2023 Schedule

Cricket fans in India will be delighted to know that the Board of Control for Cricket in India has announced the launch of a new league called Women’s IPL. The inaugural season is set to commence in March and feature five teams playing 22 matches across various venues around India.

Women’s IPL 2023 teams list:

  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Gujarat Giants
  • UP Warriorz

The World Premier League (WPL) is set to commence in Mumbai, with the IPL match 2023 taking place at CCI and DY Patil Stadium. The top team will advance to the final while second and third-placed sides play in an Eliminator round.

BCCI has decided to make the World Premier League (WPL) a five-team tournament, allowing each squad to have 18 players. These five teams will represent India’s six zones:

  • Eastern Zone,
  • Central Zone,
  • South Zone,
  • Rajasthan,
  • Delhi-NCR.

In the Indian Premier League (IPL), teams are allowed to shine. Some may be more talented than others, but every year there is one IPL 2023 winner who truly stands out.